Sportswomen of the Year

Katie Ledecky and Maya Moore Named Women Sports Foundation’s Sportswomen of the Year

The Women Sports Foundation named Katie Ledecky and Maya Moore the Sportswomen of the Year.

Ledecky took the title for the individual sports category after medaling five times (four gold, one silver) at the 2016 Rio Games and taking home five NCAA titles during her freshman year at Stanford University. Ledecky also set nine American records.

She is the fifth swimmer to win this award, but the first since 2005 when Erin Popovich received the honor.

Moore won the award for the team category after leading the Minnesota Lynx to their fourth WNBA title in seven years. She was the 2017 WNBA All-Star Game MVP. She is the eighth basketball player to win this award, the last one being Candace Parker in 2013.

Ledecky and Moore join a list of esteemed past recipients including Serena Williams, Simone Biles, Gabby Douglas, Misty May-Treanor, Kerri Walsh and Mia Hamm to only name a few.

To read more about this year’s honorees, check out the NCAA’s press release.

The Women Sports Foundation, founded in 1974 by Billie Jean King, has a mission to create leaders by ensuring all girls have access to sports.